#FamilyDinner2011

I feel like alot of girls go into college expecting to meet their new Best Friends Forever, or future bridesmaids or whatever. This was not my anticipation at all, mostly because I am not particularly personable. I make observations that, while usually accurate, are rarely flattering and usually not filtered before they travel from my brain to my mouth and into the world. This is sometimes funny, sometimes embarrassing, and frequently unappreciated. I graduated college with exactly two new friends, and my four close high school girl friends.

Close hs girlfriends- aka the Chixxx

Luckily, my roommate (also my boyfriend) is the single nicest human being I’ve ever met in my entire life, and people love him. His freshman roommates really did become his friends for life, and he left college with an admirable circle of close friends and confidants who kindly allowed me to infiltrate them in our senior year.

These are really all his friends!

So every fall, the Roomie and I celebrate our  amazing friends by holding our annual ‘Family Dinner’. All of our friends–as well as our beautiful siblings, who we really are friends with– are invited. We cram as many tables and chairs into our dining room as necessary, we pass plates  family style, everyone eats until they feel a little ill, and then we try to play drinking games like we’re still in college. In short, its usually a pretty sweet evening.

This last weekend was Family Dinner, and it was a blast. The theme for dinner this year was Italian, so we had my Famous Red Lasagna, Chicken Spinach Lasagna, Pizza Rolls, Spinach Artichoke Dip, Green Beans, Chocolate Layer Cake, Apple Pie, and Italian Wedding Cookies. Pretty much, it was all of my favorite foods rolled into one meal. Amen.

Surprisingly, I somehow seemed to cook the perfect amount of food-that never happens- and there were no leftovers (aka, no photos!). I’ll probably recreate that meal over the next few months so you can have pics to go with the recipes. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this video. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

