All the rings!

Hive!!

First, let me apologize for being notably absent- so much LIFE has taken place this past month, and I’ve barely had time to sleep, much less chronicle my lack of wedding progress 🙂

Secondly, let’s talk about rings. When we last spoke, I shared the store of how McGlovin and I became engaged, and showed this less-than-artistic cell phone picture of my amazing engagement ring.

All beautiful, in its halo-y goodness!

 

 

Welp, Mr G and I have been out shopping a few times for wedding bands, so I have another ring to show you:

Diamond band, not eternity, with pretty milgrain edges

Ahh- it’s my wedding band. The one that will be placed on my hand when we say some vows, and I’ll wear it forever. Pretty much, I’m in love. And was even more in love when the sales girl suggested that another, matching band might be a nice anniversary or first baby present {though I was completely disgusted when she actually uttered the phrase ‘push present’. What an incredibly unsettling term.}. So, those are my rings!

But wait- there’s more!

The first ring McGlovin ever bought for me!

I also wear a Claddagh ring. A Claddagh ring is a ring worn by lots of Irish girls, and lots of girls that went to the University of Dayton, as I did. The way that you wear it usually shows your relationship status: right hand, heart out means you’re single; right hand, heart in means you’re dating; left hand, heart out means you’re engaged; and left hand heart in means you’re married- it is my understanding that it was pretty handy for the young men who also attended the University of Dayton. When McGlovin and I had that awkward, “PS you’re my girlfriend now” talk, he also gave me a Claddagh ring. Say what you want, but I think it was completely adorable!

I guess in Ireland, girls actually wear them as their engagement and wedding rings. I love my heritage, but that wasn’t really something I am interested in {as you can see by the purchase of my two other rings}. For now, I’ve been wearing my engagement ring on my right hand and the Claddagh on my left, heart pointed out {as tradition dictates}. I’m still trying to decide about the arrangement on our wedding day, though- don’t brides usually wear their engagement ring on their right hand {day of}, so the wedding band can go on their left hand, and then they move the e-ring over after the ceremony? I’m kind of thinking e-ring on my left hand, Claddagh on my right, and the wedding band will just  need to be switched after the ceremony.

All three pretty rings 🙂

Any other Claddagh wearers? What did you all do for the wedding day? Or, for that matter, for the entire engagement and afterwards? Where are you wearing your c-ring now?

**All photos are, unfortunately, courtesy of my cell phone

Leave a Reply

