All the Shoes!

Hive, if you can even believe it…we’ve passed our hundred day mark!! Right? Double digits, and I feel like there is so, so much to be done! So, on to one of the most pressing issues of the day…

….shoes. If you know me, I’m a shoe person. Coming in at a solid five feet two inches, I’ve been wearing heels since I was eight {no joke, my first communion pic shows me in tiny, one inch heels and suntan pantyhose- it was pretty scandalous, back in the day}. My regular, everyday shoe varies between three and a half and four and a half inches, and those are usually in stilettos {I guess I occasionally rock a wedge}. When we ordered my wedding dress, the consultant suggested that if I wore a three inch heel, we could avoid altering the hem, and I was a little concerned- three inches may as well be flats, right?

All joking aside, I love heels, I regularly wear them for eight or nine hours on end, and I very rarely complain that they’re uncomfortable—I’m just used to them, and I always break them in. I have troublesome knees, and they actually hurt if I wear flats for too long. I’ve known since the beginning that I would want a fabulous wedding shoe, but now…I’m a little stuck. I don’t know what direction to go. Let’s take a look:

From Zappos

From Zappos

From Zappos

First, we have the glitter shoe. I absolutely love the idea of the glitter shoe- it’s bright, happy and sparkly! A few concerns- glitter just reminds me of the time that I was a high school cheerleaders, so it kind of feels a bit childish. Also, glitter around the toe box, in the peep toes, carried the possibility of touching your skin and being amazingly uncomfortable. So.

From 6PM.com

From Zappos

From DSW

From Zappos

From Zappos

From Zappos

Next we have the embellished shoe. Whether it’s a broach on the toe, a variance in color or a little bit of texture, I like that the embellished shoe offers a little visual interest. On the other hand…I also feel like some of these could be my every day shoe, which makes it feel less ‘wedding special’. On the other, other hand…does everything need to be ‘wedding special’?

From Zappos

From Zappos

From Zappos

From DSW

From Saks

From DSW

From DSW

From Zappos

And next….the bows. Hive, I die for a shoe with a bow right now. Is it a very passing trend? Probably, but I still love it so much! Bows are incredibly fun, will look good in the pictures, and are very likely to never appear on any of my everyday shoes. For some reason, the bows make me feel extra dressed up.

From Zappos

From Zappos

From Zappos

And finally we have the blue shoes. Now, some of the blue shoes feature aspects from the previous catagories, but…ever since SATC, I feel like I just need blue shoes. Well, that and the fact that I have no idea what other color I would choose. Since our wedding colors are black and white, and no one will likely see my shoes, I can choose just about any color I want- right? Which is a problem, because I can’t seem to settle on anything.

So, what say you, Hive? Any favorites? Any that you hate? Help narrow down my options, or at least let me know what you would wear!

Leave a Reply

